How to create a new fortress in Dwarf Fortress?

Screenshot from Pro Games Guides

Dwarf Fortress is an extremely complex game, and building your perfect dwarven fortress can take days if not weeks. But sometimes you want to start fresh with new ideas and a better understanding. So how do you create a new fortress in Dwarf Fortress?

Starting a new fortress in Dwarf Fortress

blank
Screenshot from Pro Games Guides

First you need a world in which to build your stronghold. Dwarf fortress worlds can only have one active fortress at a time. As a result, you must either create a new world or finish one of your previous strongholds. To do the latter, you can either retreat or abandon your existing stronghold in the world. To do this, load the save of the fortress you want to end, press ESC and then select one of the two Withdraw the fortress (for now). or Leave the fortress to decay.

What does retreating a fortress mean in Dwarf Fortress?

Retiring a stronghold in Dwarf Fortress means relinquishing control of the stronghold and letting it run as an AI-controlled stronghold in the background of the entire world. The fortress will continue to exist, but will also face challenges and potential attacks. You can theoretically also interact with him from your new stronghold and send raids and invasions there. A decommissioned stronghold keeps its residents, produced goods, furnishings, and everything else. It cannot be decommissioned unless there is another active Stronghold save.

How to bring a fortress out of retirement

blank
Screenshot from Pro Games Guides

To decommission a stronghold, go to the embarkation screen and press R or click the Reclaim/Revoke Button. From here you can get a list of abandoned and disused forts. Select your decommissioned stronghold to start fresh. You don’t get any options to embark, you just jump back into your fortress. However, don’t expect everything to be exactly as you left it.

What does abandon fortress mean in Dwarf Fortress?

An Abandoned Fortress is effectively Dwarf Fortress’s surrender button. That’s nothing to be ashamed of. Some fortresses are not worth saving. There’s no point waiting while goblins spend the next few months hunting down every last dwarf, or while a forgotten beast eats every last kitten. Leaving a stronghold relieves any surviving dwarves, who will return to their original civilization. It also scatters your items. You can play in the world again, but if you retake this stronghold you will have to do it with new dwarves.

Related: Tips, tricks and hotkeys you may not know about in Dwarf Fortress Steam

Can I get back fortresses I gave up in Dwarf Fortress?

You can recapture abandoned fortresses by walking Embark screen and press R or click the Reclaim/Retire button.. However, any enemies that may have taken over your stronghold will still be there. Some of your former residents might be there, although they won’t necessarily be friendly.

You must use the reclaim command as items are prohibited. This option is not for the faint of heart. It often takes multiple reclamation waves to clear an overrun stronghold. However, one of the great things about Dwarf Fortress is that the world is persistent and nothing is really over.

One thing you could do is build a fortress nearby, amass an army and send it to investigate or attack the abandoned fortress. This has a chance to clear any nasty creatures that may still be there and can bring some great loot to your new stronghold!

For more guides, info, and more about the Dwarf Fortress, see Can you dig through an aquifer in the Dwarven Fortress? on Pro Game Guides.

https://progameguides.com/dwarf-fortress/how-to-start-a-new-fortress-in-dwarf-fortress/ How to create a new fortress in Dwarf Fortress?

Isaiah Colbert

TheHiu.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@thehiu.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button