How to read all Game of Thrones books in order


Where to start reading each Game of Thrones book in chronological order.

George RR Martin created a living, breathing world through A Song of Ice and Fire or better known as: Game of Thrones. If you are interested in fantasy or fiction in general, there is no reason why you should not read his novels. They have been adapted into two hit TV series, with more in the pipeline. After the House of the Dragon season finale, it might be time to look at the books. Here are the Game of Thrones books to read.

How to read George RR Martin’s Game of Thrones novels in chronological order

The Iron Throne from Game of Thrones and House of the Dragon
Image Source: HBO

Rather than starting with various novellas and fictional history books set on the same continent as Westeros, it’s better to start where it all began: A Song of Ice and Fire. It is a series of novels written by George RR Martin and currently comprises five novels with two more yet to be published.

  1. A game of thrones
  2. A battle of kings
  3. A sword storm
  4. a feast for crows
  5. A dance with dragons
  6. The Winds of Winter (unreleased)
  7. A Spring Dream (unreleased)

If any of those books sound familiar – Game of Thrones – that’s because the HBO series is based on those novels, through to the events of A Dance with Dragons and beyond.

How to read each Game of Thrones book in order

Emma D'Arcy as Rhaenyra Targaryen in House of the Dragon
Image Source: HBO

While A Song of Ice and Fire is a great place to start, you can still branch out afterward and visit different parts of the world of Westeros. If you prefer to start even further back, before the Seven Kingdoms were united, then this is the order you’ll want to read them in:

  1. Fire & Blood (Book 1)
  2. Fire & Blood (vol. 2, unreleased)
  3. A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms (aka Dunk & Egg)
  4. Another Dunk & Egg Series (unreleased)
  5. A game of thrones
  6. A battle of kings
  7. A sword storm
  8. a feast for crows
  9. A dance with dragons
  10. The Winds of Winter (unreleased)
  11. A Spring Dream (unreleased)

Although some of the books listed above are unfinished – Fire & Blood, Dunk & Egg – they are still worth reading. Fire & Blood, for example, is a fictional history book that House of the Dragon takes its source material from, although it will contain spoilers for later seasons.

And this is this: any Game of Thrones book to read. They are among the best fantasy series you can read with so much rich story and lore that will keep you satisfied for years, especially as you expand into the TV shows.

Selected image source: HBO How to read all Game of Thrones books in order

Isaiah Colbert is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button