Meet the IndyCar commentators as NBC completes the booth in 2022

A new season of IndyCar has arrived as Alex Palou looks to defend his title, but who are the NBC commentators in 2022? Who gets in and out when the booth is refreshed?

Changes throughout IndyCar in 2022 aren’t just limited to drivers.

The most prominent of them all was that of Romain Grosjean to Andretti Autosport.

Former Formula 1 star Grosjean, who was on the podium 10 times out of his 179 starting from 2009 to 2012-2020, moves on from Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing.

In 51st place in 2021, Grosjean has won a pillar on Indy Road as well as three podiums, including a third at Laguna Seca.

He replaces 2012 champion Ryan Hunter-Reay in DHL machine #28.

Ozark | Season 4 Part 1 Trailer | Netflix

While the music directing seats have ended, NBC has also shuffled its IndyCar commentators for the new season.

Who’s out and who’s joining as NBC IndyCar commentator in 2022?

Photo by Michael Allio / Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

NBC IndyCar commentators in 2022

As in previous seasons, NBC had three commentators in the booth calling IndyCar races.

The two members of the team remained the same, with one change.

Leigh Diffey is still on duty game by game.

The Australian joined NBC in 2012 to include both IndyCar and Formula 1 for the network – although F1 coverage was lost when NBC lost the rights.

Since then, Diffey has focused on IndyCar – and occasionally joins the NASCAR site for other announcers.

Photo by Chris Graythen / Getty Images

Since NBC is the broadcaster of the Olympic Games in the US, Diffey has called for action from both the Tokyo Summer Olympics and the Beijing Winter Olympics last year.

Continuing as NBC IndyCar commentator in 2022 is Townsend Bell.

A black commentator, Bell is a former IndyCar racer – last started at the 2016 Indy 500.

He’s also a successful motorsport racer – and took a class win at the 2016 Le Mans 24 Hours in a Ferrari in the GTE AM.

Photo by Michael Hickey / Getty Images

New member of the team

Paul Tracy is no longer a commentator for NBC on IndyCar.

The 2003 Champ Car champion was replaced for the new season as NBC looked to refresh its production.

Tracy was replaced by James Hinchcliffe in the booth with Diffey and Bell.

Photo by Dylan Buell / SRX via Getty Images

The 2016 Indy 500 athlete Hinchcliffe joins the team after starting broadcasting in 2020 after he lost his seat.

Six-time race winner Hinchcliffe was beaten by Andretti Autosport after finishing 20th in the 2021 standings.

The likes of Kelli Stavast, Dave Burns and Mike Tirico are all still presenters or road reporters.

Photo by Sean Gardner / Getty Images

In other news, TikTok ‘if you ever think about me’ is a popular song of the 50s Meet the IndyCar commentators as NBC completes the booth in 2022

Brian Ashcraft is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button