Royal Institute of British Architects announces shortlist for Stirling Prize 2022

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the six buildings nominated for the 2022 Stirling Prize for the UK’s best new building.

Nominees from around the country are competing for the award, which is the highest award in the field of architecture.

The competition is now in its 26th year, with winners to be announced on Thursday, October 13, 2022.

Among those arguing is a net-zero project located at 100 Liverpool Street, in London, created by Hopkins Architects.

The building included a significant renovation and expansion of the 1980s office block to create a suite of offices and commercial and public spaces in the financial district of the capital.

Also nominated is Forth Valley College – Falkirk Campus, in Scotland, designed by Reiach and Hall Architects.

It is made up of three cutting-edge higher education institutions connected by courtyards and open learning spaces.

Henley Halebrown nominated for the construction of Hackney New Primary School and 333 Kingsland Road, in London, is an outstanding red-brick complex that combines affordable housing with a new primary school for the community. growing in east London.

Orchard Gardens, Elephant Park, part of London’s Elephant and Castle regeneration program, is a cluster of buildings forming a new city block of 228 new homes and retail spaces wrapped around a common garden.

It was designed by Panter Hudspith Architects.

Mae Architects was nominated for their work at the Sands End Community and Arts Centre, in London – a fully accessible single-storey building arranged around a disused guest house that includes open spaces. Flexible hours and a community cafe.

Also nominated is the New Library, Magdalene College, in Cambridge, designed by Niall McLaughlin Architects.

The detailed timber-framed library and study space is designed to replace the space previously given by Samuel Pepys and is expected to last for another 400 years.

RIBA President Simon Allford said, “As we grapple with housing, energy and climate crises, these six projects provide optimism, each offering innovative solutions to the challenges of today and the future.

Royal Institute of British Architects announces shortlist for Stirling Prize 2022 (Timothy Soare/PA)

“From major capital city regeneration programs to new visions for higher education, they all share the same ambition to deliver generous architecture tailored to a low-carbon future.

“Four of the programs featured on our shortlist provide new spaces to interact and learn.

“These formal and informal institutions – schools, colleges and community centers – epitomize how to design for the benefit of sustainable communities.

“They are joined by ambitious new housing developments on compact and complex sites that set the standard for investment in desirable, high-quality urban homes.

PORT_Magazine_August_2020_SODEN_ 013

“All six buildings were informed in consultation and in close collaboration with customers, contractors and the community. The result: striking and engaging architecture that lifts the spirits of all who participate in it.

“All six are also underpinned by their understanding of construction’s responsibility to mitigate and adapt to our climate crisis.

“From the repurposing and upgrading of existing buildings to the conscious specification of low-carbon materials and technologies, to the thoughtful design of flexible, hybrid spaces – these These consider their environment and give generously to their community.

“With the architects’ attention to detail, determination and commitment of the client, these six projects have made a difference and represent the best of the Kingdom’s architecture. England today.

“Together they demonstrate the power of exceptional architecture to enhance lives. I would like to congratulate everyone involved. “

The RIBA Stirling Awards 2022 will be held at RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London.

The best videos delivered daily

See the stories that matter, right from your inbox Royal Institute of British Architects announces shortlist for Stirling Prize 2022

Mike Fahey is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button