Scottish ministers among those banned by Russia in new wave of sanctions

The Russian government has banned a number of Scottish politicians from traveling to the country in return for aid given to Ukraine after the invasion.

In a statement on Monday, the Russian Foreign Ministry said the addition to the country’s “stop list” was due to “the British government’s continued application of a sanctions mechanism” against Russians.

Holyrood Finance Minister Kate Forbes, Constitutional Minister Angus Robertson and Ukraine Minister Neil Gray are all on the list.

Treasury Secretary Kate Forbes among those sanctioned by Russia (Jane Barlow/PA) (PA wire)

SNP MSP Fiona Hyslop was also sanctioned but erroneously described as “Scottish Cabinet Secretary for Economic, Labor and Cultural Affairs” – Ms Hyslop was economic, work and culture secretary until 2015. last.

SNP Westminster leader Ian Blackford, Scottish Green Party co-leader – and Scottish Government Minister – Lorna Slater and her MSP Green teammate Ross Greer have also been shortlisted, as have Liberal Democrats leader by Scotland Alex Cole-Hamilton.

Mr Cole-Hamilton said he would wear the ban as a “badge of honor”.

“One day, after Putin’s army is defeated and his government is swept away by the tides of history, I hope that I will have the opportunity to visit and meet the people of the world,” he said. bravely stood up against the Russian regime.

“Until that happens, I will wear this ban as a badge of honor.

“The UK must redouble its efforts to help Ukraine achieve victory on the battlefield, while in Scotland, our Government must be serious about patching holes in its asylum scheme and helping those who need help. who ran to our shores.”

Nicola Sturgeon was similarly sanctioned earlier this year.

Labor leader Sir Keir Starmer, shadow foreign minister David Lammy, senior secretary Lisa Nandy and former NATO secretary general George Robertson were also among those barred from entering Russia.

Several journalists were placed under sanctions on Monday, including Piers Morgan, BBC correspondent Huw Edwards and ITV journalist Robert Peston.

The best videos delivered daily

See the stories that matter, right from your inbox Scottish ministers among those banned by Russia in new wave of sanctions

Mike Fahey is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button