Writers Guild West reelects Meredith Stiehm as president – ​​The Hollywood Reporter

The Writers Guild of America West has reelected Meredith Stiehm as its president and Michele Mulroney as its vice president in an unusual strike-era office and board election.

Incumbent Betsy Thomas won the treasurer seat, defeating Jeffrey Thompson, in the voting period that ended Tuesday. Other officer candidates included Rich Talarico, who ran for president, and Isaac Gómez, who ran for vice president. The vote took place between August 29 and September 19 amid the ongoing writers’ strike that began more than four months earlier.

Candidates who won seats on the union’s board included incumbents Adam Conover, Nicole Yorkin, Dailyn Rodriguez, Zoe Marshall and Dante W. Harper, as well as new candidates Molly Nussbaum, Scott Alexander and Rob Forman.

Three thousand, seven hundred and eighty-three valid ballots were cast in the election, conducted by Votenet Solutions. According to WGA West’s most recent financial report, the union had 25,120 members as of March 31, 2023.

The election, which was something of a mid-strike referendum on current WGA leadership, suggested that voting members supported the union’s current direction. This round elected all incumbent leaders who ran again in the election for both officer and board positions.

There’s more to come.

Brian Ashcraft

TheHiu.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@thehiu.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button